Crying Wolf

The inspiration to write this post comes from my all time favourite poem Matilda. It is the story of a girl who lies all the time and eventually falls prey to her own fabricated tales. Though my choice of poetry may seem very shallow, I being a staunch supporter of the ‘lying is not always bad’ theory ,thought of exploring this idea a little further.

A lie is a type of deception in the form of an untruthful statement with the intention to deceive, often with the further intention to maintain a secret or reputation, or to avoid punishment – this is how Wikipedia puts the definition.In plain terms its what we do when we are desperate to save our neck or when we hate to hurt the feelings of someone we love. I can vividly recollect the first time I lied – I was probably 3(I had a pretty early start) and was involved in a fight with some boy from my kindergarten class.He had complained that I talk a lot and I had made up some terrible story about him.It didn’t take much time for my teacher to take stock of the situation and bring peace but I hated that boy so much. I never had to lie after that till my marks in a particular exam came out to be extremely horrendous and I was scared to reveal it to my parents.Not that they would scold me – they would any ways scold me later on but my self respect and this whole bubble of expectations I lived in pushed me to lie. By normal standards I lie sometimes but its always for fun or to tease someone and in good spirit.

I happen to believe that you can lie when you speak and you can also lie when you don’t. Some people just stay silent though they may have certain opinions because they don’t want to get involved. I think that’s the biggest kind of lying.You don’t only lie to yourself but also betray the trust of someone who is looking at you for support. I have been at both the receiving end and the giving end and you would never want to be in either of them. Like Mark Twain said

‘Always speak the truth.That way you don’t have to remember what you said’.

If you do not tell the truth about yourself you cannot tell it about other people.I think that’s the first step.As easy as it may sound it isn’t. Then again it isn’t impossible either. So be honest to yourself and you will not fear being honest about others as well.

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Crying Wolf

  1. Prateek GV says:

    Reminds of one funny incident when I was 3-4 years old. I built up this weird theory stating that “If you dig up the earth in your backyard, then you might reach exactly the opposite end of the earth some day.” and asked one of my friends (whom I really hated) to try it out. (Though I knew nothing like that could happen, I pretended as if I had done it earlier). That guy went every morning to the backyard, dug the earth for atleast 10 mins and used to ask me if he had dug enough so that he could reach the opposite side. This continued for a month and one fine day his mother came to know about my theory. 🙂 . There were blasting from both sides my parents as well as my friends 😛 .

    About the post : Acceptable that telling lies is bad. But when you use it for a good cause, its no longer a lie anymore. Nice post!

  2. Karan says:

    Interesting post. Though I dont agree with the thing on staying silent. Staying silent is often the best policy.. Have realised so after being straightforward for a good part of my life.
    Mark Twain’s quote was nice, and so was the last para!

  3. Rakesh Datta says:

    lying is, i think, a very essential part of the human social fabric.You cannot be social if you are not ready to lie.You need to lie sometimes if you dont want the other party to get hurt.Its another thing that most of the times you lie to save your butt. And i so not agree with what Mark Twain suggests.You just cannot live without lying.Its what makes us humans.Come to think of it.Someone asks you how his newborn looks like and ‘nasty’ is your answer.
    And one more thing.I think lying to save your neck is perfectly alright.Darwin w’d approve of that.
    The last para was very good.Great writing Namrata.
    And yeah! I have not lied here.Not even one bit.

  4. Aniket says:

    Looks like you have a natural tendency to fight with and hate boys from your class. And yeah, you do talk much.

  5. Ankit says:

    “lying is ok till one is not dissembling other’s space.”

    apply to both types of lie …

  6. After reading the first para, I thought we have a poetess here(after a lot of poet bloggers) but good to see that you are not writing poems.

  7. well .. nice one !! It reminds me of some funny moments in my school days … Mark Twain is right and so are the following lines … but , if you lie for good you need not regret it . Its kinda rationalizing on the part about telling lies , one can have them to keep things funny but should keep them out too !! ….telling lies is a bad thing that I agree , but people might live in torment if they don’t use them (i suppose) hehee 🙂 …. Nice post yaa …Keep blogging

  8. Maruti Borker says:

    lol @GeneralBordeaux

    Nice topic 🙂
    I think lying is ok if it helps to save your friend or when you want to hide a truth which is more harmful then telling the truth 😀

    Nice post !! ( I might be lying 😛 )

  9. D. N. Rohith says:

    nice one

    @prateek
    you are lying about that tale. aren’t you?

  10. mythalez says:

    lying is an art 😉 .. can be used in several ways for several benefits …
    just that it shud be done only when its almost impossible for the receiver to find out the truth in any way … 😀

  11. Prateek GV says:

    @ Daka

    I was a kid that time and used the tool of lying to the max extent, which saved me from the stronger ones. The story might sound immature but its true 🙂

  12. Anonymous says:

    in my 5th or 6th class I got real horrible marks in all my subjects. I hid the papers in the bookshelf…. then for parents-teachers meet, i never told ’bout it to ma parents! i got report card and copied my father’s sig. there 😦 😦 when asked marks, i changed marks in paper and showed it to my parents 😦

    moral of the story – to save one lie, you tell another lie and another one and another… it continues…

    one day, everything came out and i was made to sleep in the verandah for 5 nights… 😦 😦 next day my teacher called me and made admit in front of the entire class 😦

  13. Y.V.Sandeep says:

    well, dealt with a touchy subject well, good blog, keep blogging….

  14. trisha says:

    Hmmm…lying definitely is a bad habit in my opinion. everyone shud try to avoid lying as much as possible. Most of the lies we speak as young kids are pretty harmless in themselves but sometimes the habit carries over and we ( “I” actually)
    tend to lie unnecessarily.

    Wonderful job in the last few sentences. Keep Blogging 🙂

  15. Sushma says:

    Lying is a bad habit.Bad habits die hard.So we should try to always speak the truth because we are belong to the land of ‘Satyameva Jayathe’.

Leave a Reply

