The Dark Knight

My all time favourite movies happen to be Shawshank Redemption, The Godfather and Fight Club and in that order as well. The fact that The Dark Knight has taken over the No.1 spot on IMDB is a little confusing for me. The Godfather is a movie with a great mind and Shawshank is a movie with a great heart. The Dark Knight has both a great mind and a great heart but yet it somehow failed to make a great impact on me inspite of the fact that it is perhaps one of the finest films ever made.

I have seen most of Nolan’s earlier work as well and I still feel Memento and The Prestige were his best works creatively. Christian Bale is a superb actor but an underrated star and this movie might definetely help him rise above his limited worshippers that includes me. Coming to the movie – the performances are superb. Bale’s restricted but dignified portayal is such a refreshing change when compared  to all the superhero junk movies that have been thrown at us in the recent past. Caine and Morgan are seasoned artistes and do what they do best. Ledger is incredible and all the buzz about an oscar nod is well deserved.Even the guy who plays Harvey Dent and the other police officer are brilliant and definetely the strongest parts of the movie. Everything else is perfect and thats what makes this movie a little confusing for me. I like movies that are not perfect and that leave you with a sense of curiosity, the Dark Knight does that but I am not curious at all about the next installment which is not a good thing I suppose.

All put aside, its a great movie and a must watch for everyone who loves Batman or who doesnt love Batman.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Dark Knight

  1. Pankaj Saini says:

    It’s a superb movie. The first super hero movie which has been credited for some brilliant acting. Heath Ledger’s a sure shot at the academy award…. but it’s such a tragedy that he’s not around….. btw check this out… after watching the movie I declared, ” the only actor who can pull off an act better or at par with Ledger is Johnny Depp” and here you go !!

    http://movies.indiatimes.com/articleshow/3317966.cms

  2. Trisha says:

    Its a pity the movie didnt impress you. I thought it was amazing, one of the best movies I’ve seen in a long time. I agree it was one with both a great mind and a great heart. Cheers!

  3. Abhijeet says:

    SR is over-hyped for me. Its a great movie with a steady progress and a terrific finale but number 2(now 3)is too much of an embellishment.

  4. ORB says:

    WHY DO YA WANNA KILL ME??!!!??!
    WHERE IS HE??!?!?!?!!!
    WHYYAYAYA JAJAYAYA MEYE??!?!?!!?

    — Batman

  5. raghuveer says:

    Someone might have hacked into imdb and bloated the ratings. Surely, it is a good movie but doesn’t deserve 9.5. An 8.5 would do. I felt “No Country for Old men” is better than “The Dark Knight”. What i find disappointing in “The Dark Knight” is that Christian Bale’s role is limited. However, Joker surpassed my expectations and filled the gap.

    I don’t think Dark Knight is on par with Shawshank. There is a difference.

  6. sundar says:

    Shawasank redemption is the greatest movie of all-time. Newly released movies which are good creep into the top 250 list for a while and then disappear later. Sure will be the case for this one too.

    The film is worth the hype and heath ledger was simply awesome.But still its no way comparable to SR. Waiting for more votes so that SR will get its position back…

  7. raghuveer says:

    @Abhijeet

    Shawshank is not over-hyped. It is the best movie till date. There are multiple themes in the movie. The only movie close to it is “Fight Club” but you may find it cliche now as many others copied the movie. You would realize the magic of Shawshank only after repeated viewing.

  8. I agree. Memento and The Prestige were Nolan’s best works creatively. Memento just blew my mind.

    There’s one thing i’ve learned after watching TDK – movies like those should be watched as soon as they are released. Wait a couple of days and you get so excited with all the hype around you, the film feels less awesome than it is! I should’ve stayed away from RottenTomatoes.com and all those blog posts!

  9. skp says:

    I lack the taste .. I can tell you my fav 10 movies but not in any order !

    Loved The Dark Knight !

    Blog Often ! Nothing to read on the web !!

  10. Abhijeet says:

    @raghuveer : you are entitled to have your opinion dude…I have mine 🙂

  11. Deepti says:

    I second your opinion.TDK is a great movie but not great enough to overtake Shawshank n can never surpass Memento. But loved Ledger’s acting in TDK.

  12. abbulu says:

    Heath Ledger ..Joker !!

    By far the most becoming-one-with-the-role acting you will ever see …

    Rumorus have it he sacrificed his life for that role.To think like the joker …he shut himself up in a rat-filled stinking hotel room for 3 months…took chemical overdoes…etc.,EVntually in the end he died because of chemical imbalnces in the body 😦

  13. abbulu says:

    REG THE IMDB RATING ….

    aesthetically, innovation-wise ..shawshank redemption, godfather are awesome, way much better …but then

    TDK has an element of absolute psychedelia … and much heavier,more sinister thinking than either of the other movies.The philosophy of the movie is so cast its like “Silence of the lambs” and “Clock work orange” rolled into one

    Its not the acting,not the chracterisation, not anything.
    But the mere idea of converting a sissy comic book (not an already well acclaimed novel like the other movies) into something of a gothic fantasy cum psychological thriller …is unparalleled ….

    my two cents worth 😉 …

  14. Joker says:

    See to them, you’re just a freak. Like me!
    You keep writing reviews , and people fight in comments.

    @raghuveer :- Hacked ? Are you outta ur mind ? See, I’m not a monster…I’m just ahead of the curve.

    @ORB :- And I thought my jokes were bad…

    @Abhijeet :- what according to you is the number one then ?

    There are some guys i respect a lot , they are all freaks like me … they are upendra,balakrishna and mamoothy .

    _
    (_) _
    _ .=. (_)
    (_) _ //(`)_
    //`\/ |\ 0`\\
    ||-.\_|_/.-||
    )/ |_____| \( _
    0 #/\ /\# 0 (_)
    _| o o |_
    _ ((|, ^ ,|))
    (_) `||\_/||`
    || _ || _
    | \_/ | (_)
    0.__.\ /.__.0
    `._ `”` _.’
    / ; \ \
    0′-‘ )/`’-0
    0`

  15. Joker says:

    See to them, you’re just a freak. Like me!
    You keep writing reviews , and people fight in comments.

    @raghuveer :- Hacked ? Are you outta ur mind ? See, I’m not a monster…I’m just ahead of the curve.

    @ORB :- And I thought my jokes were bad…

    @Abhijeet :- what according to you is the number one then ?

    There are some guys i respect a lot , they are all freaks like me … they are upendra,balakrishna and mamoothy .

  16. Gautham says:

    chistropher nolan is the god of superhero cinema. i am a die hard fan of him nd coming to dark Knight, Bale has a mask on his face all the movie , in a way he doesnt have much role to play with his mask on. btw fight club is my third fav.

Leave a Reply

