A not so random post

I woke up today thinking that I was going to write a super cool post. I had loads of ideas but not enough ideas to execute them. So I decided to write down about all that came to my mind.

First up I decided to write about some thought provoking issue but I have done that before and I am definitely not interested in portraying myself as the head of the moral police department. Nevertheless, here’s what I came up with

“A few days back I was in a city bus and struggling to juggle my laptop bag, my purse and of course myself. Some people are gifted and can manage to stand through the most wobbly of rides but not me. I belong to that elite group of people who manage to stumble on anything even in a stationary bus.If there was ever a doubt then let me state with supreme confidence that I am probably the biggest klutz on planet Earth. Lots of people saw my struggle but no one even offered to help me. I felt so angry that I could have choke slammed a few of them right then and there but of course I didn’t (couldn’t is the right word)! I realized how unreasonable I was being in expecting something when I myself have never volunteered to help someone with their luggage. On a few occasions I have given up my seat for an elderly person but I can do much more. Instead of chatting away to glory like I do all the time, if we couldΒ  just look around in the bus, we would find at least one person who could do with some help. Although there are reserved seats for physically handicapped people and senior citizens, most of the time someone has to yell at a healthy teenager to vacate the seat before they themselves get up and offer the place. I think that we should also urge the driver or conductor to not overload a bus when people do not even have place to stand…………..”

Well, I could have gone on and on but like I mentioned earlier and on the advice of a person named INDIAN who very rightfully commented on my earlier post, I think I will act rather than write. Moving on, my next attempt was to write something funny. I do not really know if I have a sense of humor which is good but I am pretty sure that one cannot have a good sense of humor without intelligence. The other way around doesn’t have to hold true though. So here was my draft :

“Imagine waking up to Justin Timberlake’s voice every morning. Cool huh? . Well thats my alarm tone and inspite of my sincere affection for him and his voice I cannot help but push my phone away and away whenever I hear ‘I am bringing Sexyback.. yeah’Β  till it falls off the bed with a thud which in turn wakes me up. Not cool at all. In fact the whole process of waking up sucks. The process of picking up the phone from the ground which is like a foot away from you sucks even more. Opening your eyes after a 12 hour sleep is the hardest part. Then you have to rub your eyes in disbelief thinking what happened to the dear night, try and recollect that dream that you had , look into the phone to find out the time and then mouth a few obscenities because one always thinks that they have gotten up much early then they should have. Then the struggle starts. Your heart says go back to sleep while your head says get up. Its like the war between the good and the bad and caught up in the line of fire is your precious sleep….. ”

I stopped at this point and started reading what I had written so far. It didn’t really make me laugh. And I laugh a lot. So, I decided that it is better to leave this to people who are good at it. I then thought about writing a short story but my mind seemed to be on a sabbatical and like all of you know your mind has to work for you to be able to write a story. I thought about writing some movie review or some sports event but nothing significant happening over there.

Finally, I decided to do something that I have never attempted on my blog before. Write a poem!!! I am aware that my poetic prowess pales in comparison to someone like Sashidhar, but I am going to give it a shot anyways.

Rain drops falling on the window pane
Sunbeams creeping in through the glass
Cool morning breeze blowing in my face
But i have to go to a class

The birds are chirping in a rythm of their own
There are dew drops on the blades of grass
The fragrance of the wet soil makes me smile
But I have to go to a class

I am not a nature lover nor a great poet
I am just a normal lass
So let me end my poem right here
Coz I have to go to a class

PS: I had lot of fun writing this post and I hope that people who read it will forgive me for the poem.

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to A not so random post

  1. rohit says:

    funny….

    showed a new path for writing posts.. with writing nothing substantial.. πŸ˜›

    btw your poem was good… πŸ™‚

  2. Trisha says:

    I had a great time reading this one ncluding the poem. A job well done hehe.

  3. Pankaj Saini says:

    hehe forgiven for the poem …… your attempts at humor didn’t work… your poem did make me laugh….. and your luggage reminded me….. don’t you always carry quite a bulky bag [:D] …. and God knows what are you going to write on ‘Blogger’s Day’ that’s 2moro… btw….

  4. Aniket says:

    khe khe khe, sweet poem. Really liked it. Am def gonna visit this blog again, just to read this poem.

  5. kuberasamrat says:

    Poem chala bagundi…,,

    but 4th yr lo neeku anni classes emunnayi?

  6. Deepti says:

    For the record, I actually like posts which do not harp on a single topic.
    Liked your poem. First poem on going to a class eh? Portrays a geeky flair of yours πŸ˜›

  7. no offense! but i couldn’t stop laughing at the poem πŸ˜›
    it’s actually good!, it’s just that poems having words ‘nature’, ‘sun’, ‘birds’, ‘life’, ‘love’ make me laugh! don’t really know why πŸ˜‰

    half hour and you could’ve made a historic debut! first poem on the first IIIT Bloggers day!

    still can’t stop laughing πŸ˜›

  8. bourne says:

    Your post had reminded me of many things of which I chose these two
    1. Though you might have preferred to do away with moral policing, I could see a slight hint of that in this post. I was just pondering over the word “POSTAGE” on US stamps. It led me to GESTAPO.
    2.The poem reminded me of Wordsworth`s work which I had come across at school. You say you are not a nature lover nor a great( good is more appropriate)poet. I felt you were a bit modest though “drew drops ” and “smell of the wet soil” do your claim no harm.

  9. Namrata says:

    @bourne – nice comment!

    @everyone – thanks for not tearing my poem apart!

  10. Prateek G V says:

    Superb! neat and sweet. It was total fun reading your poem.

    Happy Bloggers’ Day and Keep Blogging!

    Blog On IIIT.

  11. Abhijeet says:

    nice πŸ™‚

  12. Divya says:

    Niiiice…[:)]
    It was a lot of fun reading your post which did not harp on just one topic. Cute poem! And fast work…how could you write so much in just half an hour??!![:)]

  13. Spandana says:

    Heyy .. cute poem ..
    So looks like special post .. first time poem kada .. good try πŸ™‚

  14. Karan says:

    Yep.. It was fun reading the post and the comments.
    Happy bloggers’ day!

  15. navatha says:

    So one more poetic g-blogger huh… πŸ™‚ good try nammu.. even i have written one but in my 5th class…hope i post it one day πŸ˜‰ Happy Bloggers’ Day..

  16. anupama says:

    Nice poem!
    Happy bloggers day!

  17. Srijan says:

    Arguably, it’s the most random ‘not so random post’..
    Your draft was poetic and your poem was funny.
    Happy Blogger’s day!

  18. Kulbir Saini says:

    speechless 😐 actually can’t figure out what to say about the god damn poem πŸ˜›
    Peace!!

  19. shrikant nigam says:

    Nice poem, I hate reading poems but had to read it after reading so many praises for it.

  20. rahul says:

    You over-rate sleep. High time you took some tips from the sys admin πŸ™‚

  21. sashidhar says:

    the poem was great. so was the post! πŸ™‚

  22. Lydia says:

    Hey Nammu gud attempt da(poem)…keep going…
    happy bloggers day!!!

  23. Himank says:

    He he, this was a nice idea for a post
    and ya about your poem!! Its nice.. Great work!! πŸ™‚
    Hail all the Bloggers!!

  24. abbulu says:

    choke slam ?

    I would sell my soul to see a lady choke slam people, and that too in a bus !!! πŸ˜€

  25. sundar says:

    funny poem :))
    hoping for more …

  26. Vamsy says:

    you didn’t have a theme for the post.liked it n ya your poem as well.keep blogging!!

Leave a Reply

