Dancing with the friends :)

Writing the last post brought back lots of memories from school and made me feel nostalgic about all the ridiculous fights, the not-so-ridiculous fights, the lunch breaks, the teacher bashing, the teacher admiration, the crushes, the hate clubs, the school events etc. Yet one memory that has stayed with me over these years is that of one dance, one unforgettable dance ( ya , I still remember the steps !!) that we performed on uncountable number of times at incomprehensible places.

My partners in crime were my best friends Trisha and Deepika and God only knows how many times we have laughed about it. It all started in 6th standard when we girls were crazy about dancing. For a particular celebration we composed a dance on the song ‘I love my India’ from the movie Pardes and blatantly copied steps from all over tinseltown. Not strangely enough , everyone from our teachers to the Princy liked it a lot and turned it into a huge affair with costumes etc etc. The dance was a hit and we could not stop from walking with our head held high in the corridor. Then we were told to perform the same dance again at another event. After that we performed at a church, in a jail, at a hospital, about half a dozen times in the school as well. This process spannedΒ  3 years and we passed on our legacy in the form of a dance which wasn’t that great to start off with in the first place. I have not heard that song in the past 3 years and today for some strange reason I felt like I wanted to.

I have been to my school a few times since I finished but even today everyone remembers us by that one dance and in a way it makes me really happy because to be remembered even after 6 years is a huge honor. I am dying to re-unite with my friends and perform the dance of our lives one more time.

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Dancing with the friends :)

  1. anupama says:

    To your surprise, You’ll be remembered here in IIIT as well for the song “chinnamma chilakamma” that you danced to in basket ball court. Three of you put up an awesome show that day…
    =)) @”Blatantly copied the steps”

  2. Abhijeet says:

    you are a super cool writer πŸ™‚
    and talking of legacy, one “ari-ari” I’ll remember for sure πŸ™‚

  3. Prateek G V says:

    nice post πŸ™‚ refreshing. between i was in the dramatics club in my school and i had frequent blackouts and the rest is self explanatory.

  4. cool!! you guys performed at a church, jail and hospital!!!
    and half a dozen times in school!?! πŸ˜€

    “blatantly copied steps”: u guys were in 6th grade! not everyone can copy steps and do it well at that age!

    yes! it’s nice to be remembered even after so many years. i got to play Brutus during the dramatics competition but alas! the play was so pathetic some guys remember that it for all the wrong reasons! πŸ˜›

    cool theme btw!

  5. oops typo in the last comment. meant to write ‘remember it’

  6. Deepti says:

    Sweet post n real cool theme. There was one time when I had to give a speech on stage(_NOT EXTEMPORE_). Suddenly out of no where, there was this gust of wind which blew away the sheet on which i wrote my speech 😦 …School days are fun!

  7. Pankaj Saini says:

    Dancing phew πŸ˜€ so you are a dancer (I thot it was something you picked up here )…. there’s so many memories to reminisce from the school times.. every one of them special in a unique sense…

  8. Himank says:

    Well.. being rmrd in your school after all this time, must be a grt feeling!! πŸ™‚ Me, will have to think of anything I did in my school except BC which might help ppl rmr me!! Dancing is one thing I always regret not being able to do!! 😦
    I conquered poetry about a year and half back.. Lets c if dancing is in “mere haath ki lakeer”

  9. Aniket says:

    Aaahhh, speaking of on stage legacies, I’m sure everyone will take back the ‘skit’ we performed on our freshers and my role in it =))

    Vaise really admire you people performing at so many places at such young an age. And to think that I thought the only thing you did in school was smash tiffin boxes on small, skinny boys’ heads!

    Respects are there!

    And yeah, will never forget Pagare, Gupte and gang’s Ari Ari. You guys must do that at least once before we leave guys!

  10. Karan says:

    Yeah.. I thought of Ari Ari as soon as I read the post.
    Btw, the template is very girly πŸ˜›

  11. Satya says:

    nice post .. made me nostalgic as well πŸ™‚ .. i haven’t been to my school since i passed out but i’ll go sometime soon in the future .. lets see how many of my teachers remember me πŸ™‚

    wonderful theme btw .. loved it!

  12. yogesh says:

    “I luv my India”…..in jail, guess that gig must have been adrenaline-puffed. πŸ˜€

  13. Trisha says:

    well u said it all πŸ™‚ “I love India” is going to be stuck in my head for sometime now, my poor roomie.

    AND missy, no no no no no no more performances of that dance. πŸ˜€

  14. rohit says:

    I will be remembered in school for my mom was a teacher 😦
    we too performed many a times on stage but not like you πŸ™‚

  15. prashasti says:

    I remember an instance, I was approached by my sanskrit teacher to perform a sanskrit skit….u wont belive but i have performed it at my school,then at a district level competition… and funny thing is I never knew what those dialogues actually meant…but ppl do remember me for those sanskrit dialogues..
    Keep posting on school days..

  16. clickingthoughts says:

    sweet post and agree with karan πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

