24

The following events take place between 6AM and 6AM

I wake up early, much much early , courtesy a bad dream and somehow cannot go back to the warmth of my bed. Cursing, I get up from the bed not realizing that this is just the beginning of what would go on to be a not so great day. My grandparents are doing some chores and I sleepwalk to my bag to get my brush and toothpaste. As soon as I put the brush into my mouth, I yell out (atleast I try to) and realize that I have some scrubber gel on it instead of colgate. I curse, throw the brush away and curse again because now I have to go pick it up! A while later my cousin gets up and we are both super excited because we are going shopping. We get ready and eat little for breakfast because we have secret plans to eat all the roadside crap while shopping. As we make our way to the bus stop , a bus just leaves. Not to let our spirits get dampened by this setback, we wait for the next 50 mins in scorching heat (we arent that excited about clothes anymore) for another bus. Its crowded but we decide to board it neverthless because another minute in the bus stop would have drove us both crazy. We reach our destination, shop endlessly, window shop and then shop endlessly again. In the process we realize that we have just about enough cash to reach home. So we cannot have anything to eat. And we are starving. We look at the bags in our hands and suddenly we aren’t that hungry (well, we both were but none of us wanted to take the blame for the spree). We board a bus, reach home and make a dash for the dining room where granma has everything prepared. We eat like people who have come from food-deprived concentration camps and then the reality sets in. We are tired. So we decide to take a nap. Just as my eyelids are about to close, a huge sound scares the daylight out of me. I look out of the window to see a bunch of kids engrossed in firing crackers. Damn it! So we cannot sleep and cannot eat (coz we have just eaten like Homer Simpson) which indirectly means we have a boring day ahead.

Suddenly walks in our cousin with a huge grin on his face. He declares that he will take us for a movie (actually, he had other plans but we got all emotional and abusive ,so he had to give in). We want to see Roadside Romeo but tickets are not available. One of his friends has tagged along and tells us that a theatre nearby is playing Heroes and its a decent watch. So we get all ready to go and watch a nice movie. But as luck would have it, what was playing there was Hero and not Heroes. I haven’t even heard of this movie. It has Nithin (??? who) and Bhavana (????who) in the lead. ‘Mast picture hai’ says some guy at the counter looking at our perplexed faces. ‘Well,how bad could it be ‘, remarks my brother and so we buy the tickets and enter the hall. 10 minutes in and I know this is in the league of ‘Aap mujhe ache lagne lage’. The acting is horrible, the dialogues are borderline pathetic and there is no story. Wow! Thats an achievement. Add to it some crude humor, item songs and girls dressed as urchins (by which I mean minimal clothing). I want to run out but my bro has a logic. However bad a movie might be – you never walk out till the end credits roll. Shoot. So, we are stuck watching this remarkable piece of art and by the end all of us have a headache. None of us says anything on the way back (secretly though I want to kill the director of the movie). We reach home and then suddenly start laughing hysterically. I guess the movie wasn’t that bad after all. It gave us so much to talk about. We tell all our neighbors and relatives that its a great movie and a must-watch.

Finally, we crash and sleep. I wake up early, much much early and look at the watch. Its 6AM.

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 24

  1. atul says:

    scrubber gel on it instead of colgate πŸ˜€

    btw I saw Heroes two days ago … one time watchable .. !! πŸ™‚

    Watch Karzz … then u’ll surely kill the director or urself .. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

  2. Kulbir Saini says:

    scrubber gel .. tch.. tch… πŸ˜›

  3. see Gunda and then you would realize what actually a piece of art is !!

    by the way how did the scrubber gel taste πŸ˜›

  4. Deepti says:

    U lark!!Getting up at 6 AM.. I restrain myself from commenting further lest I turn out abusive πŸ˜€

  5. Ghost Runner says:

    “We tell all our neighbors and relatives that its a great movie and a must-watch.”

    sadism andi babu :O

  6. Karan says:

    Why do all girls love shopping?

  7. bhargava says:

    i nearly skipped this post after reading the first line (i could hear Jack Bauer’s voice πŸ˜› which kinda gets on your nerve after watching all those episodes). glad i didn’t!

    scrubber gel!?! πŸ˜€

    so now you get the awesomeness of tollywood movies.

  8. pankajsaini says:

    scrubber gel ….eeeeuuuu…..

    @Karan : I second your judgement πŸ˜€

  9. prateekgv says:

    sleeping walking .. scrubber gel πŸ˜›

    how did it taste?

  10. Namrata says:

    @ all who want to know how scrub gel tastes – try it out sometime. It will kill your taste buds.

  11. ashwin says:

    Try watching “yeduruleni manishi” on Ur Bday.
    Went to watch Shehnaz and came back halfway thru the movie with pretty strong emotions towards every1 related to the movie including the threatre owners for playing the movie.

    Scrubber gel???

  12. Sambhav Jain says:

    Scrubber gel !!! … I know what it feels … I had the same experience with shaving cream … I bet shaving cream tastes worse ….

  13. Sunbeam says:

    Hilarious!!

  14. navatha says:

    u r 1 among those very few who wake up early in d morning…. πŸ™‚ how do u do dat nammu ?? and yeah scrubber gel.. nice experience huhh πŸ˜›

    i cudnt stop laughing when you told me how you ended up watching “hero” :)) not all will have this kinda luck πŸ˜‰

  15. redrod says:

    >> It has Nithin (??? who)

    Nitin gurinchi tappakundaa telsukoovaali. Once watch “Sye”…

  16. Darling!,

    when is the next post coming?

  17. anupama says:

    I am empathize with your feelings. I went to watch Madhumasam in a local theater and ended up watching “aadivaram aadavallaku selavu”. And guess what, that was supposed to be a surprise show for the viewers. And as you must have guessed already, It was more a shock than surprise.

  18. anupama says:

    Sorry in the previous comment , It was supposed to be “can” not “am” πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

