Marley and meeee :D

I am neither a dog person nor a cat person. For that matter I am not that much of an animal lover. Zoo or a movie – I pick a movie. Animal Planet or a boring soap opera – hmm, I would still pick the latter. Not that I hate animals or anything but the affection should come naturally and it does not in my case. Having said that I have to confess that my face is covered with a grin whenever I look at pictures of cute pups (courtesy the forwarded mails on yahoo!). Strangely enough both my mum and dad had pet dogs when they were young but constant transfers and staying in apartments never really gave them an opportunity to get me and my sister a pet. We never really showed any interest in getting one either because there is the feeding, the cleaning etc etc which I never really wanted to do. In a nutshell – I like animals from a distance.

Of late though I have wanted to get a pet. I do not know why but Animal Planet does not bore me as much as it used to and I am not scared of animals that much (well lizards are reptiles :)). Coming back to the plot, I asked my parents a few times this past one year about getting a dog and as much as they would love the company (both me and my sister are away in hostels), they do not have the energy or the time for that. I left the topic there but today I saw this wonderful movie called Marley and Me and I feel like I should get a pet dog. The movie captures the growth of a couple and their dog through several years and how unconditional the love of a dog is. I still like people 😛 but I guess sometimes you need to be around living things that do not judge you all the time, do not care what you look like or dress like, do not care if you are rich or poor and just care for you as long as you give your love to them. Wow, I guess I just broke my personal record for the cheesiest line ever.

So, the point of the post is.. well, there is no point to it except that I wish people start taking in pets and start caring for animal shelters and stop hunting and stop wearing fur. I for one know that I am going to buy a lab and give him/her the coolest name!

This entry was posted in Films, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Marley and meeee :D

  1. pankajsaini says:

    pets are truly adorable … good that you noticed it through the movie 😀 and as mentioned by you pets do keep you company without any judgement (well as long as you’r good to them) … but it is really sth with gals…. i was reading the interview of an actress once… i don’t recall her name… but when asked… ‘who wud you want to share you bed with’ … she replied ” with my pet…dog.. he’s so cute… and in fact i do share it with him right now… he’s better than men ” …. i think that was one thing too far 😀 !!

    anyhow i suggest you own a pet when you settle down… they need time and proper attention and make you sure you have both to spare before you own a pet !!

  2. rohit says:

    Jr. Amala… 😛

  3. bhargava says:

    i never wanted to have pets and i’m not too sure if a movie will change my mind! 🙂

    my neighbor has dogs which are super cute and sometimes i wish i had them. and ofcourse who doesn’t wish they had cats like the ones in http://lolcats.com . but some myths and the cleaning and feeding that’s involved don’t convince me to have one!

    and yeah! like you said it’s good to be around living things that don’t judge you!

  4. Rakesh says:

    wow …gotta see that movie….

  5. Rakesh says:

    btw…i am both …dog person and cat person….infact i am more than that…i am an animal person..i like watching animal planet, NGC and the likes….(i must admit i too dont have much liking for reptiles or other coldblooded animals for that matter..so we have something in common)…animals are fun…they can cheer u up in an instant…i am great friends wid most of the strays in my place…
    but one advice: get one if u can keep one ..i mean if u have time to take good care of it….i mean i have seen pets being kept very badly by their owners…!!not that i think u will….

  6. Rakesh says:

    i wish my mom had let me keep one….sigh!!!

  7. Rakesh says:

    btw…forgive me..i am a bad commentator…look at the way i have done it…four incoherent replies..:)

  8. Ghost Runner says:

    congrats !Your name shall be recommended to Blue cross for you “cheesiest” line 🙂

  9. momentsofecstasy says:

    “I guess sometimes you need to be around living things that do not judge you all the time, do not care what you look like or dress like, do not care if you are rich or poor and just care for you as long as you give your love to them”

    abbbbbaaaaaa…. toooooo much 🙂

  10. Sundeep says:

    if BLN allows then you can have a pet in GH…. 😀

  11. Sundeep says:

    may be if BLN allows then you can have a pet in GH…. 😀

  12. Mike says:

    Just passing by.Btw, you website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

  13. hanuma says:

    Nice post :). Keep Blogging

Leave a Reply

