Home and back

I always look forward to going home but this time around things were different. In a span of around 2 months I have changed a lot. New hairstyle, lost a bit of weight etc and given the fact that my parents aren’t huge fans of experimentation, I knew I was in for some confrontations. Luckily, my bus got delayed and my dad could not pick me up, so I knew I was safe till he returned home in the evening. I got into an auto and reached home praying my mum would look beyond me!

I rang the doorbell and my mum’s first reaction was ”whats this bowl on ur head”. That set the tone for the day. After the initial shock, my mum kinda liked it and was ok with it. The thing about parents and especially mums is that even if you lose like 1mg of weight, they feel like you have become size zero. The food festival began shortly with my mum cooking everything she could and simultaneously giving me lectures every half hour to get my lazy butt in the kitchen and learn some household work. The latter obviously did not happen and I restored back some glory to the couch in front of the tv set that had been neglected since the last time I had been home. I do not really know what I did between 10 am and 6pm but there was definitely lot of eating and sleeping and lecturing :P. My sis came in the evening and finally I had someone to share all the scoldings with :D.

We yapped away till midnight till dad had to forcibly ask us to sleep because the next day was Ugadi. Nevertheless, we woke up early much to my parents’ delight and had a great time the whole day. Met a lot of friends, had lot of good food and saw a few really good and not-so-good movies on the telly. Saturday was full of surprises. After a long gap my dad sat me down and asked me about my future goals. I have actually phrased and rephrased this answer many times in my head but when it came to telling my dad I just mumbled something and ended up sounding like a total moron. Pa and mum got a little carried away and started talking about how I needed to become more responsible and that I had probably 3-4 years left before the D-day etc. They have been attending way too may marriages of late and I know that has had some influence. I excused myself as politely as I could and went out with my sister for a walk and realized that just till the last semester I was such a different person and things have changed real fast. Suddenly everyone looks at me like a grown up who will work and earn etc etc. I refuse to become responsible and mature because being irresponsible is so much more fun and easy! Somewhere though I know that change is inevitable and as a first step I entered the kitchen and volunteered to help my mum. She was super happy but my sister was not because now she has become the new me and its one tough spot to be in !!

As I got into the bus last night, I promised that I would stop acting like a brat and act more responsibly when it comes to my family and relations in general. As I entered the campus in the morning, I could not remember any of those promises !!!

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Home and back

  1. manoj says:

    well constructed post!
    one can afford to forget these sort of promises.

  2. anupama says:

    Well written as always πŸ™‚
    Write more of this kind da!
    The topic for the next post can be:- Pros/Cons of liking a guy!

  3. @nks says:

    this is the right time … if u have any plan of further studies … take it up right away … because a job in hand is catalyst to growing up thing …
    And in less than a year … the kid will be lost somewhere in the responsible adult …

  4. bhargava says:

    well written! i was expecting a longer post! πŸ™‚

    “As I entered the campus in the morning, I could not remember any of those promises” πŸ˜€

    @anupama: what’s with your display pic!?!? πŸ˜›

  5. We don’t become something with resolutions πŸ™‚

    You write well. I admire your writings. The way you use words etc., How do you do that? Effect of novels? I think these kind of comments are becoming trite in your blog

    Expecting a post on novels you read, the books that have impressed you, the all-time-favourites, how you picked the habit ..

  6. Please write that post, atleast, before the D-Day πŸ˜›

  7. mythalez says:

    naah .. i dont think u need to become all grown up and matured immediately after leaving college and getting a job … πŸ˜›
    immaturity can stay until the ‘D-day’ or perhaps beyond that!

  8. atul says:

    U have very little time left just 3-4 years .. enjoy at max .. you’ll become responsible automatically after the ‘D-day’ … πŸ™‚

  9. rohit says:

    good post…

    well the transition phase of being irresponsible to responsible has to start sooner or later πŸ˜›

    and leaving the resolutions outside IIIT is so very normal… but you would be leaving IIIT very soon and then.. you cant leave them.. πŸ˜›

    all in all.. good to see you blog after a looong time πŸ™‚

  10. rohit says:

    @anupama.. ee neku telvada πŸ˜› nuvve rayochu ga…

  11. Deepti says:

    Niiccee (maruti style).. My my, I don’t see any post like comments
    πŸ˜›

    The list the list the list.. We want the list to be out..

  12. Oops! now junta is using D-Day as the frame of reference.

  13. Aniket says:

    Ladkiyaan… shaadi… job… D-Day…
    Why can’t things stay just the way they are! :((

  14. Navatha says:

    being responsible..thats kinda difficult job πŸ™‚ just want to see how are we gonna turn up into the so called responsible “we” after 5-6 yrs πŸ˜› thats gonna be totally different and lots of fun to watch πŸ˜›

  15. srirang says:

    small post .. nice post .. πŸ™‚

    rophall @rohit mama .. kummyav po! πŸ˜›

  16. kuberasamrat says:

    Nice to see that u r helping your mother. What ever you do for the career –but the end of the day you are a girl. You have to learn these things.

  17. Namrata says:

    @kuberasamrat – i can’t believe you just wrote that!! r u living in the dinosaur era or smthing πŸ˜€

  18. @16th person to comment: You will be branded as a sexist now. Bear the brunt.

  19. ashwin says:

    Dont be afraid of becoming a adult. Its just different.

    Neways, the decesion is upto U regarding when U wanna turn into a full fledged adult. U can always postphone that part as far away as U want to.

  20. Trisha says:

    Sweet Post! Somehow the best part of the post was imagining aunty’s bodily expressions while u were helping her in the kitchen. lol what can i say ur writing forces some ppl to think πŸ˜› thoroughly enjoyed reading the post.

    And this kubera dude (i am sure its a dude) is for real or what. nuf said.

  21. nikhil says:

    hey..nice one..know u since few weeks and i must say ur mature nuff..atleast u dnt mind ppl drinking..lol…well yeah n those talks where u sit between ur mom n dad..n they try to dig in to ur love life..hehh..u hv to put up t most decent face n jus smile…..all in all well written n keep writin..njoy!!

  22. ashwin says:

    Yo.
    Dont stop writing or U will stop forever.

Leave a Reply

