I can officially cook!!

Necessity is the mother of invention. So true. I have never fancied cooking. Kitchen is the last place one would expect to find me in. There are just way too many non-human things in a kitchen.Yet, the strong desire to have ‘home made’ food overpowered my lack of experience and laziness. Just setting up the kitchen was a Herculean task. I never knew there were so many types of spoons :). Me and my roommates were pretty psyched about cooking and secretly all of us wanted to show off our culinary skills. It took us about a week to get the gas cylinder,the stove (a 3 -burner ,although one of the burners doesn’t work :P) and another week to get the right regulator! Once that was done we were all set to start. Sounds smooth so far – trust me it wasn’t. Every day(night actually) we would realize new additions like a peeler on monday, a knife on tuesday, a chopping board on wednesday and so on so forth. It got frustrating at times but our firm resolve saw us through that tough forthnight :).

With everything at our disposal finally, all that was left to do was cook. All of us came with limited knowledge and the age old adage ‘too many cooks spoil the broth’ was granted 100% accuracy status! For the first few days it was only potatoes and tomatoes because they are the easiest to cook. Salt is such an underestimated quantity. Its a talent to put appropriate amount of salt in a dish. After about two weeks I kind of understood how things work around in a kitchen, what I should cook and what I most definetely should not. The entire exercise was incredible fun though especially with all my roommates also being there every step of the way literally.

So things I can cook and yes, they are edible –rice,maggi,tea,anything with potatoes,onions,tomatoes,capsicum,gourd(all varieties :P),brinjal,ladies finger etc etc. I know its an impressive list. The point is if you know how to cook one vegetable, the rest follow suit. One day me and my roommates ended up with two pieces each of potatoes,tomatoes and onions. With no idea what to do with such quantity we decided to try our hand at making pulao and by God’s grace we churned out a dish which was not exactly pulao but was nevertheless tasty. Its an in-house speciality now :).

I feel empowered for some weird reason. Cooking is liberating and my respect for Mum,her mum and her mum …..has increased multiple fold. I proudly tell my mum about my achievements in the kitchen and cannot wait to go home and indulge in some showing off. After all its something I learnt by burning my fingers (literally again :P).

PS: Today I am going to cook cabbage and although I am not a huge fan of this vegetable, I hope it turns out well.

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I can officially cook!!

  1. Aniket says:

    Bas ping kar ke blogpost ka link bhej diya… kabhi bula bhi lo khaane pe 🙂

  2. Tolia says:

    Show Off !!!!!! …..

  3. okay wait, i like this post the most. Excellent post. 🙂

  4. bhargava says:

    yes! i can testify that you guys have become experts in making pulao! 🙂

    yesterday’s cabbage and aalo came out very well and with all the cooking you’ve been doing the past few days you’ll soon become an expert 🙂

  5. Aniket says:

    Bhargava, good for you man!

  6. neuronspike says:

    Ah! theeeeendi!!!! chop chop chop, chop chop chop. I wanna try my hand in a creating a self-made cuisine one day. And open a Bistro which sells that stuff (read: torment people with it :p)

    I agree with Tolia(Whoever he/she is), this post is “Show Off!!!!!….” :d

    • Namrata says:

      Thanks for the comments spree you went on :). Aah well what you call show off – I call display of talent :P. Btw Tolia’s gender is a raging question that has attracted immense debate 🙂

  7. JimmyBean says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

