The first official marriage talk

‘I will ask Grandpa to start looking for boys’, said my father nonchalantly, as if it was not a big deal. Boys here meant, prospective grooms for me. Yikes!!! The thought itself sent shivers down my spine. I tried to avoid the awkwardness by rushing into the kitchen, not realizing that me going into the kitchen would invariably attract more attention than divert it.

My mum casually follows me inside and states, “We have to start searching Nammu. We are not asking you to get married tomorrow. But, these things take time.”. “Aaahh, amma”, I blurted in frustration and stomped out of the room. People who know me well will vouch for the fact that there is no sight funnier in this world than watching me stomp. Thus, the seriousness of my disapproval was lost. After a brief period of silence, my dad walks into the room with a smile and before he can say anything remotely associated with marriage, I say, “Papa, let me enjoy my life. I do not want to be married till I am 25. I want to settle in my career and do different things. Please!”. God knows how, but my eavesdropping mum enters the scene and interrupts my carefully planned,emotionally stirring monologue, “Nammu, do not be childish. We won’t marry you till you are 24. Not later than that. You know what happened with A and B.” Suddenly sighting a loophole in her statement, I latched on to the words ‘don’t be childish’ and carefully wrapped a theory around it. ‘I don’t know how to cook’, ‘I am stubborn’, ‘I am short tempered’ etc etc. I belittled myself like I have never done and still, it was not enough. My dad was amused, my mum was not. In a last ditch effort, I said, “You don’t love me”. I know, its pathetic and overly sentimental but, trust me, it works. At least it used to when I was younger and cuter. Now, it looked silly and I realized I needed to sharpen my acting chops. But, I digress. So, the conversation seemed to have hit a roadblock and the scorching heat was not helping.

After a sumptuous lunch, things sort of cooled down. My mum and aunt, out of nowhere just asked me, “so what kind of guy do you want to get married to”. Uhmm, if it were left to me, Robert Pattinson. But, seriously, how do you answer a question like that and that too when asked by your parents/relatives. My folks are pretty cool. I can talk to them about anything and I do. We had a very open upbringing, but somehow the topic of marriage is still seeped in tradition and culture and that is one department, you should not mess with. So I muttered some garbage collaborated from the numerous rom-coms I have seen and my mum seemed to be nodding in approval. So, I asked her, “Mum, is it okay if he’s from another caste?”. Silence. The kind that can tear through metal. ‘Why are you asking that?’, enquired mum. ‘Hmm, just normally ma’, I tried to sound as relaxed as possible. “Is something going on?”, she said. “No, mumma”.”You have a boyfriend Nammu”, my mum said with a smile. I had dug a grave for myself. You cannot talk yourself out of a conversation like this, except for saying something like ‘I am gay’. I moved uncomfortably in my seat, but the damage had been done. Both mum and dad started teasing me and soon, it became hard not to laugh. My parents, of all the people, were nudging me about boyfriend et all. Suddenly, the clouds of marriage seemed to be dispersing and sensing a golden opportunity, I said, “Mum, till my next birthday, no marriage talk please” and guess what they said πŸ˜€

PS: I have the coolest set of parents ever !! And they have a pretty cool daughter too πŸ˜‰

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to The first official marriage talk

  1. g2 says:

    Ah! the dreaded marriage talks… I love them so much when they happen siblings and classmates :p

    My brother came up with a pretty innovative idea to make it harder for my parents… (his criteria being a huge fan of Jerry Seinfeld + ability to cook “vankaya pacchi pulusu” in 12 minutes)

  2. Trisha says:

    such a sweet and relatable post πŸ™‚ Awesome stuff

  3. Si says:

    Very engaging, revealing and a sweet post. Felt as if I was there in the conversation. So marriage with your bf next year huh ? πŸ˜›

    • Namrata says:

      Thanks so much for the kind words. No, I am still 22 da. So I have time for marriage. And I have a ‘good friend’ but no bf πŸ˜‰

      • What is with girls and their various degrees of friendship when it comes to opposite sex – friend, good friend, understanding friend, caring friend, loving friend etc,..

        Can you shed some light on how these various levels are awarded? πŸ™‚

  4. Navatha says:

    thanks Nammu..for a good practice session πŸ˜‰

  5. anupama says:

    Superb Nammu!(:love)
    It is your narration which makes this simple incident so refreshing and so cool!
    Once again, I love this post.

  6. djranga says:

    nice.. this post reminds me of the scene in Munnabhai MBBS where Dean Asthana makes fun of Munna while talking to Chinki over a cup of coffee and says “Chinki! Boyfriend bole to?” in Munna’s style πŸ˜›

    nice post. enjoyed reading it. πŸ™‚

  7. Sundeep says:

    nice post. started smiling right after reading the title :D.

  8. sushma says:

    If I were to write the same post…I wud name it as “The first official Threat” :P..Just kidding..neways nice post nammu πŸ™‚

  9. @nks says:

    lucky you it ended there …. for me it lasted for whole three days i was at home …

  10. Gautham says:

    nice one

  11. Namrata says:

    @Sundeep – Thank You πŸ™‚

    @Sushma – Hehe, a few more months and it may turn into one for me πŸ˜›

    @@nks – You survived three days of marriage talk. Who says superheroes do not exist πŸ˜›

  12. deep says:

    hehe.. πŸ˜€
    too guuudddd.. the way u have put this dreading discussion at home…

  13. Animesh says:

    Refreshing .. btw whats with 24 and 25 .. looks like after haggling with ur parents .. u still will have to settle at 24.5 πŸ˜€

  14. Saujanya says:

    saddest part is when you say ‘Aaah Amma!’ and go away, and your grandmom takes it as, ‘oh, she’s only feeling shy about it’..

  15. Sankalp says:

    excellent narrative, as usual πŸ™‚

    lets see if they manage to abide by the promise of staying away from this topic till ur next b’day

  16. Darsh says:

    Nice post. I had a similar situation with the same questions, answers and doubts. And I have been going through the same for the past 1 year. It’s a never ending battle out there! Good luck to you πŸ™‚

  17. Saujanya says:

    hehe..no..my grandmom is too modern for that..she actually warned my mom and dad not to talk of marriage until i was 25.. πŸ™‚
    i love her for that..

  18. hmm says:

    “Suddenly, the clouds of marriage seemed to be dispersing and sensing a golden opportunity, I said, β€œMum, till my next birthday, no marriage talk please” and guess what they said

    PS: I have the coolest set of parents ever !! And they have a pretty cool daughter too ”

    so, what did they say? … green signal to the boyfriend? πŸ˜‰

  19. Namrata says:

    @Captain – I could tell you but then I would have to kill you πŸ˜›

  20. prashasti says:

    I guess once you are out of college and working and have no immediate plans for future …this kinda conversion is inevitable…
    been there … and was able to convince my parents for 25 :)…
    BTW nice post πŸ™‚

  21. earthwire says:

    πŸ™‚ still smiling and can so totally relate to it !!!!

Leave a Reply

