Not a happy journey

I said a little prayer and turned off the light. Sleep eluded me and every now and then I reminded myself about the important thing I had to do the next day. I checked my phone twice to make sure that I had set the alarm right. I still could not sleep. So, I did something that I ensure will help insomniacs – both frequent and rare- in their efforts to doze off:

1. delete all the unwanted messages from your inbox – this helps even more if you are a vodafone and/or hdfc customer.

2. ponder why Twilight movies are such big hits

3. try to figure out who the mother actually is in HIMYM

4. listen to Kalmadi’s speech (if you have not recorded it..shame on your patriotism :P)

The ‘samba rumble’ tone on my phone woke me up. I cursed the creators of the tune and sat on the bed for a good 10 minutes. The alarm rang again. I would have thrown my phone had I not taken pity on its state. I splashed cold water on my face to make sure my eyes were wide open and my mind fresh for the task at hand. I opened my laptop, checked the internet connection and waited with anticipation for the moment. I have never been this nervous – not even when Lucas had to choose between Brooke and Peyton. It was 8.00 am.

The next twenty minutes have to be the most irritated i have ever been in my entire 22 years on this planet. I came close- real close, to throwing my own laptop. And I love my laptop. So imagine the extremities of the situation that pushed me to that level.

Yes, folks. I am talking about the one and only %$# .It has to be the most pathetic website designed ever. Period. It has a mind of its own and does as it wishes. I hate it. If there is anyone out there who wants to form a team that will shoulder the responsibilty of avenging an entire nation that has suffered at the hands of this site and believes in justice, please contact me. I am very good with throwing eggs,chappals etc.

At the same time I would also like to recommend anyone who has had success with tatkal bookings on irctc for the highest civilian honor in India. You are my hero. It is you, in whose honor, temples should be built and roads should be (re)named. Saracsm aside, it baffles me that a website can be this bad. It is understandable that in a country as populous and as dependant on railways as ours, the site is guaranteed to experience issues. But, that should be a rarity and not the cornerstone of the site. I am ultra confident that with so many intelligent and tech savvy youngsters in our colleges and companies, a better looking and better working website can be made.

Why make such a hue and cry about a website when we have so many more seemingly important issues? Well, its a little bit like the commonwealth games. Minus the 8 billion $$. Why host the CWG at such an expense when that money can be diverted towards more ‘real’ needs. So, I wil leave my justification at that. Unfortunately, Ms. Mamta Bannerjee is so busy alloctaing funds for newer trains to West Bengal and …well, West Bengal that there is no time left for her to think about giving the Indian railways wesbite a much needed facelift.

I hope someone has. For the sake of my sanity and that of my fellow Indians!

This entry was posted in Articles, Misc, rant. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Not a happy journey

  1. earthwire says:

    As soon as I read 8:00 am in your post…. I knew it has to be irctc :O

    I can sooo totally relate to it… the previous interface was a little faster 😦 I actually wonder if there is reason why it is designed to be so slow… may be all those travel agents intend it to work that way

    • Namrata says:

      It is sort of unfair isn’t it when one sees people standing outside the reservation counter for hours to get tatkal tickets. Either they should make it only online, or otherwise.

  2. in total agreement… the IRCTC Website is a disgrace

    Do you know that on their “re-password” page (which pops up whenever you try to do something of consequence), the password is in fact present — Plain Text, Unencrypted — in the Page Source???

    if you find that hard to digest, go and see for yourself 😛

    A bunch of college kids would be smarter than to make that kind of a gargantuan blunder.

    • Namrata says:

      Omigosh, did not know about the password thing. Though I should not be laughing since it is a significant glitch, can’t help but be amused!

  3. Jeevan says:

    The ‘samba rumble’ tone on my phone woke me up.

    Does your phone(iphone100) support mp3 tones….??? 😉 😉

    and I use ngpay mobile app for booking tatkal tickets which is much better than %$#

    • Namrata says:

      Hehe, no I have a very very very old phone but the only good thing about it is the wide range of eclectic ring tones it has to offer 😛

  4. rahul says:

    So it was all about booking train tickets? People get all wound up at 8’o clock in the morning, and spend sleepless nights in anxiety of railway tickets? *facepalm*

  5. Been there done that… But Mamata Banerjee meeting travel agents union a few weeks before the new interface looks like a weird coincidence doesn’t it?

    This is how I got my tatkal ticket.. may be I am in for a Padma Bhushan! –> http://gtoosphere.blogspot.com/2010/06/g2-vs-problem-solvers-of-worst-kind.html

  6. Namrata says:

    @Rahul – You prove your point. Will take sarcasm 101 course soon 🙂

  7. Fredrick Wentworth says:

    Can be summarised as “IRCTC sucks”.

    Looks like a filler post. Doesn’t fit into your usual array of posts. We like them much better. Hope you will be back 🙂

  8. Saujanya says:

    Tatkal booking can’t get better than this – 8:00 AM and waiting list 147…i still can’t figure that out..

    • Namrata says:

      Saujanya… why do these things always happen with you :). Btw, long time. Reply to the chain mails na !

      • Saujanya says:

        you know what..i found a competition for IRCTC Site..
        Vodafone
        I have been trying find the very elusive link to pay the bill..for the past whole week..and i won’t give up.. 🙂

  9. Abhijeet says:

    lol. ditched that site a long back. Was standing at the Hitech station last week to get a tatkal ticket. Reached at 5.45 AM and still managed 25th position in the queue 😦

Leave a Reply

